Bash Your Stash Blog Hop!

Thanks for visiting my blog today!  One of my scrapbooking friends, Cathie Reed, has a regular series on her blog where she uses supplies from her stash in an attempt to use up some of the supplies that she tends to hold on to.  This week a bunch of us have decided to join her in an attempt to use up some of the older things that we have in our stash to make room for newer, more exciting supplies.

I admit, I have a terrible weakness for paper.  I just love all types of paper and I have huge piles of patterned paper.  The problem with loving paper is that I have a tendency to buy way more than I will ever use.  And as my style evolves, I find that I am using less and less patterned paper, particularly bold patterned paper and it just continues to pile up.  I have been buying less and less, sticking to monthly kits and buying very little besides but I still have mountains of it lying around which I am making a definite effort to use or purge!

So to start this Bash Your Stash event, I didn’t have to look very hard to find these goodies:

IMG_0098

Supplies Used: Basic Grey Wisteria 6X6 Paper Pad, Amy Tangerine Hello Thickers, Heidi Swapp Ghost Letters My Minds Eye Life Stories Journalling Cards, Little Yellow Bicycle Vellum Journalling Spots, The Robins Nest Jewels, Amy Tangerine and Studio Calico Stamps, Ranger Black Archival Ink, Freckled Fawn Washi Tape, Mister Hueys Misters – Various Colors, Bazzill Kraft Card Stock, Evalicious Flair Badge, Studio Calico Wood Veneer Potty People, Glitz Teeny Alphas in Black, American Crafts Buttons.

I began by misting and dropping mist on the cardstock.  I had this photo of L and her friends that I wanted to use on a layout and the colors of the Wisteria paper pad went perfectly.  I layered up a bunch of the patterned papers which I cut down to various sizes and matted the photo.  I like the layering of the thickers on top of the ghost letters in the title.  I randomly added the jewels throughout the background and like the added dimension that they provide.  I balanced the layout by adding some washi tape and patterned paper in the opposite corners.

IMG_0100

I added the wood veneers and the flair button to the bottom for visual interest and added dimension and included some buttons atop the washi tape on the top.

The vellum flourishes were adhered with Glossy Accents and make for an interesting frame to the photo.

IMG_0102

IMG_0104

Those Heidi Swapp Ghost Letters are so old, I have been holding on to them for years!  I never know quite how to add them to a layout but I really like the layering with a different  type of letters and a different font.

IMG_0105


Are you a scrapbook supply hoarder?  What types of things do you tend to buy but not use?  Leave a comment to let me know what you have in your stash, then hop on over and see how everyone has Bashed Their Stash! (Click on the blogger’s name and it will bring you directly to their post).

Cathie Reed  – www.cathiereed.blogspot.com
Deanne Clarke-Saunders  – www.littlebitopaper.blogspot.ca

15 thoughts on “Bash Your Stash Blog Hop!

  1. Pingback: Bash your Stash | Blog Hop! | sarathings

  2. This LO is wonderful! I love the picture and the way you mimicked the 4 girls on the bottom with the veneered girls. Such talent! Really enjoyed your LO

  3. Love the way you did the title.awesome job with the layering and live the wood veneers. Awesome pic too of the girlies in the water.

  4. I like the layered title and the act that you used for girl die cuts to stay with your dd and her three besties!
    Great use of your stash….I have been on a mission to make 100 cards in 100 days using just my stash!

    • Thanks April! Would love to see some of your 100 cards! That’s a great way to use up your stash, might be something I can manage during the summer!

  5. Love it, Liz. I’m another one that loves your idea to use up the acrylic letters. I have a few of my own so I might scraplift this idea! Thanks for inspiration and for hopping along.

    • Thank Cathie! Thanks for this great blog hop idea, it was fun to pull out old supplies and incorporate a few new items with them. Some great inspiration from all!

    • Thanks Rose! All of the girls are very photogenic! It was great to use up some of those really old supplies, it gave me a couple of other ideas for layouts in the process. Hopefully I can get some time this week to put something together!

Leave a comment