Starbursts and Pie Charts

Today I am sharing a couple of layouts that I did in a class a while back with Cathie Reed at The Paperie which was all about a trend that is quite popular in the scrapbooking world right now, Starbursts and Pie Charts.  We did two layouts in class and Cathie shared a bunch of her layouts where she has used this technique.

This is my Pie Chart Layout. The use of the white paper as a base is not something I normally use but I did enjoy the result. As part of the class kit, we got the Amy Tangerine Sketchbook Collection 6X6 paper pad and it works quite well against the starkness of the white background.  We did a little misting on the background and added wood veneers, punched hearts and some doodling.  I love these photos of A and L from the first day of school.

IMG_2213

For my starburst layout I used this photo of A from the day that he got his new-to-him car.  He worked very hard all summer and saved every cent that he made towards the big car purchase.  This layout has some misting on the background.  The colors in the Amy Tangerine papers are quite bright and neon but Cathie taught use a little trick to tone down too bright patterned papers with a little mist of Mister Huey’s white.   Lots of layers to anchor the photo and little bits here and there of wood veneers, washi tape, bakers twine and a subtle arrow stamp.  I just LOVE this layout!

IMG_2211

Have a great day!

3 thoughts on “Starbursts and Pie Charts

  1. Awesome LO’s Liz! I need to do mine too! I totally forgot I picked up a kit waaaayyy back after I missed Cathie’s class. Maybe it will give me some incentive to try to start and finish the layouts in the comming few weeks. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

