New Year, Blank Slate

2014 was a blur to me.  It started out as a year of many challenges and went downhill from there.  I felt like I was always trying to get caught up at work and at home and had just about no time for me.  I was in a slump, picked up a lot of bad habits and couldn’t get myself back on track.  I took some time to relax over the Christmas period to recharge my batteries, rest, reflect on where 2014 went wrong and what I want to change for 2015.  I am not the type of person to make resolutions so, I prefer to think of this more as a lifestyle change.

In 2015, there will be less stress, more downtime.  I will learn to say “no” and not try to cram so much stuff into a week.  I will spend more time at the cabin.  I will read more books.  I will limit the time that I waste on social media sites.

In 2015, scrapbooking will become a higher priority.  That will start with a major reorganization/decluttering/stashbashing of my scrapbook room.  I will find a way to use up that stuff that I have been hoarding! And if I can’t use it, I am losing it!

I am picking up Project Life again this year.  But I plan to do it my way, which may or may not have any rhyme or reason to it.  I love the concept and I love looking through the finished product but I won’t give up if I fall behind.  It will be a combination of traditional paper, digital and relying heavily on the Project Life App to keep me on track particularly when I feeling like I am needing a catch up.

I will continue to take classes at my LSS The Paperie.  I love the Book of Me series with Rae Lynn.  Krista is planning a new size with KTOL this year…8.5×11 which means that I will be mixing and matching pages in my albums.  And I am heading back to the Year Long Album Class with Sara this year after taking a break from it last year.

I am also tapping into my inner artist with a Watercolor Class Series with Jeannette.  I am really looking forward to this technique based class and learning something completely new and out of my comfort zone.

I am also breaking out my DSLR and committing to using it often during 2015.  Most of the photos that I took in 2014 were with my iphone, it’s just so convenient.  But you can’t beat the quality and versatility of the old DSLR and I was reminded of that during our annual family photoshoot for the Christmas Card.

This much neglected blog will also become a bigger priority in 2015.  I won’t promise too much but I will attempt to update on a regular basis with tales of my exploits as they unfold.  It may be life in general, travel, scrapbooking or home renovations (for which I have lots of ideas for 2015), you never know what may pop up here.  I love the beginning of a new year.  It’s almost like a reboot!

I would love to hear about your plans for 2015!  Did you make any resolutions?

Leave a Reply

