Dance….like no one is watching!

L’s first show of this year’s recital is tonight and I am really looking forward to it!

In honour of dance recital week and because I am a dance mom, I am back today showing another one of my favorite layouts using a gorgeous photo of L.  This is from last year’s dance photo shoot and because I liked the photo so much, I printed it in 8X10 and showcased it in this layout!

I happened upon this paper quite by accident during Krista’s “How to Make a Kit” class back in the fall at The Paperie.  One of my friends found the paper while we were putting together our kits and knew that it would be perfect for me!

2012-11-24 09.27.11-1

I matted the photo on grey cardstock and centered it on the 12X12 patterned paper which was perfect for this photo and layout, added some embellishments and a title and called it done.

2012-11-24 09.27.24

The grey letter stickers are from two different sets, one is Studio Calico and the other is the skinny alphas from Jenni Bowlin.  The Studio Calico wood veneer hearts and arrows are a go-to for me in recent layouts, I just love them!  That’s washi tape (another one of my favorite go-to’s) with a strip of patterned paper from the B side of the 12X12 that I used for my layout.

2012-11-24 09.27.23

The ballet slippers, ballerina and the smaller ballet slippers with the word “Ballet” are all from FabScraps and come as unfinished chipboard.  I used distress stains to add color to them and layered up the stain until I was happy with the colour.  For the larger ballet slippers, I added stickles for a bit of sparkle because you can never have too much glitter!

Happy Hump Day!

Leave a Reply

