Why I Love Layout Tag

Back in my November 12 on 12, I included a snap of a layout that I did for a recent Layout Tag. But I never did get around to posting the actual layout.  Today I am going to finally share it with you.

For those of you that don’t know, layout tag is kind of like that childhood game “post office” that you used to play where you told a story to a friend, they told it to another and so on. At the end you got to see how the final story changed from the original.

In layout tag, the host selects a layout from anywhere really and uses it as inspiration to create a new one, that new one is then passed along to the next person, the layout that person creates is passed along to the next person and so on. At the end, all of the layouts are revealed and you get to see how the layout changes through the process from the original. The reveal is always quite exciting and interesting. Some people take the layout quite literally and change it up only with different papers and embellishments keeping the sketch intact. Others may change the orientation, make it a double layout from a single inspiration, use a color scheme, mimic the photo. The rules are that there are no rules!

The thing that I like the most about a layout tag is that you are on a time limit and generally you have to turn around the layout and pass your along to the next person within three days of receiving the inspiration layout. This forces you to commit and move on fairly quickly, so you have to finish it without dwelling on it or, as I often do, keep going back and adding more elements to the page.

Here is the layout that I came up with:

2012-11-13 12.26.12

You know how sometimes you buy things, put them away and when you finally take them out to use them, you wonder “what was I thinking?”  That’s how I felt about this paper.  But I was determined to use it up so I took that as part of the challenge in this particular layout tag.

For the most part, I viewed my inspiration piece as a sketch and utilized my own ideas. For example, in the inspiration piece, the banner was made of patterned paper, instead I chose to use photos to make my banner.

I wanted to add some journalling but didn’t want to deviate to far from the sketch so I added some hidden journalling behind the main photo which is held there with a tiny clothespin.

2012-11-24 09.15.21

There is some background misting there using a Christy Tomlinson mask and my favorite wood veneers from Studio Calico.  I mixed up my letter stickers as well.

2012-11-24 09.14.45

I also added a flair camera badge and a wood veneer camera with a gemstone for the lens.  Lots of layered patterned paper behing the photos.  I love the bits and pieces collage style to this layout.

I think it’s time for another layout tag.  Who’s in?

2 thoughts on “Why I Love Layout Tag

Leave a Reply

