Working With Sketches

One of my favorite ways to scrapbook, particularly when I am having trouble getting started, is to use a sketch.  Sketches give me a little boost that I need to figure out where to put stuff without putting to much stress into the process.  It helps to take the supplies that you have on hand and put a layout together fairly quickly or using a more detailed process.  How complicated the sketch becomes is really up to you but the basic layout remains intact.  There are lots of sketches available online and some of my favorites are SImple Scrapper, Pagemaps and Scrapbooks, etc.

The other great thing about using sketches is that they are often organized and searchable by the number and/or the size of the photos that you have.  For example, I had a 5X7 photo of L from her Grade 9 Farewell that I wanted to use in a layout.  I even had some coordinating papers but couldn’t figure out how to put it all together.

So I searched through the single photo layouts on the Scrapbooks, etc website and found this one:

SBESketch223_001

And here’s how I put the layout together, using supplies from an older Studio Calico kit.

2012-11-24 09.16.42

I punched those larger circles from a sheet of paper that was full of circles.  I also punched out a heart from some white card stock, misted it with some Mr. Huey’s Mist and covered the whole thing with Glossy Accents.

2012-11-24 09.16.53

When the heart dried, it did buckle a little but I liked it anyway.  I thought it made for some interesting dimension.  The smaller teal circles are punched using different size punches and some are adhered with pop-dots to add to the dimension.  The title is small, again using the circle them, punching two circles, one slightly smaller than the other and matting them using pop-dots between the layers.  I misted that wood veneer camera and added a gemstone for the lens.

2012-11-24 09.17.00

Sketches are my go-to when I want to get layouts done quickly.  They keep me focused while still allowing me to stay close to the original or change up any or all of the elements if I want.  Do you use sketches in your process?  I would love to hear from you and what websites you use to find really good sketches.

Have a great Monday!

Leave a Reply

