How I used a scrapbook kit…

Yesterday, I showed you the kit that I put together after taking a “Create A Kit” class with Krista Wells at The Paperie and the first two layouts that I made with that kit.  I am back to show you the remaining layouts that I made with this kit.

This first one utilizes a lot of the papers that were included in the kit and is a total scraplift from a layout that Krista posted here on her blog a while back.

2012-11-24 09.26.07

There is lots of stuff going on here: inked edges, washi tape, a punched border, flair buttons, multiple fonts of letter stickers, buttons, twine!  Love it all!

Here’s another layout where I utlized paper strips of varying widths from all of the patterned papers to center the photo.  This is one of my favorite photos of L, the sheer joy on her face conveys everything that performing means to her and the absolute confirmation that the stage is where she belongs!

2012-11-24 09.23.31

I used some of my favorite go-to’s on this layout: a little bit of misting on the background, washi tape, wood veneers and those American Crafts Thickers (don’t you just love that font?)

And the final of the 5 (yes, five!) layouts that were made from this kit is this one showcasing a photo from a helicopter tour of the Grand Canyon.  For this one, I misted some white cardstock using a Studio Calico Mask.  To finish it off, I used up some scraps of patterned paper, flair buttons, a die-cut frame and some washi tape.  I am really please with the result.

2012-11-24 09.19.43

So from my kit I got a total of five layouts and there is not much similarity among them.  I found that using the kit made it quite easy to pull the layouts together as I stuck to using the supplies that were included and only pulled a few items from my stash as I felt they would add to the layouts.

There are lots of subscription kits available out there in the market.  Locally, The Paperie offers a monthly kit and its design team provides inspiration using the contents which are displayed in the store and posted on its blog.  It has lots of coordinating cardstock and patterned papers, embellishments and a special exclusive item.  I highly recommend it, it makes scrapbooking easy!

One thought on “How I used a scrapbook kit…

  1. Love this! The layout looks awesome and I’m so glad that you used your kit. We’re doing another class again about kit creating in April before the retreat if you’re interested.

Leave a Reply

