Scrapbook Kits…and how I used mine during a recent trip.

Back in October I attended a class at The Paperie with design-team member Krista Wells called “Create a Kit.”  Krista uses kits in her scrapbooking all the time and its actually pretty fascinating to watch her use one, there is very little left when she’s done and she usually gets between four and six layouts from her kits depending on how she uses them.

During the class, Krista showed us how to create a kit from your stash at home or at your local scrapbooking store.  The aim is to be more efficient and use up those supplies and by having your kits already made up, you can go to crops without having to drag along everything you own.  Part of the class was spent creating a kit.  Some people brought along some of their own papers but I set out in the store to create mine.

Here is what my kit looked like when I brought it home from the store:

photo-1

It had 4 plain card stock, 7 coordinating patterned papers, 1 centerpiece paper (mine had the tree/bicycle) and 1 patterned paper that didn’t really match (mine was the pink), two packages of letters, some flair buttons, a few studio calico frames, and two rolls of washi tape.  As I got further into the process, I used some of my favorite items from my stash and more of the many letter stickers that I own.

The day after the class I headed to Banff, Alberta for a work conference and took my kit with me along with a few basic kit supplies.  Since October in Alberta looks a lot like January in Newfoundland, I was very glad that I had brought along something to keep my occupied as I tried to avoid going outside.  Here’s what I saw outside my hotel room on the night that I arrived in Banff:

photo

With minimal supplies that I packed into my suitcase and while there during a small bit of spare time, I managed to do two layouts.  The first was this one:

2012-11-24 09.24.42

I got my inspiration from a Pagemaps sketch.  Along with the flair button, I added some Studio Calico wood veneer stars.  I love all of the patterned papers and went with Krista’s adage that “it doesn’t have to match, it just has to go.”

2012-11-24 09.25.00

I just love that photo.  It’s one of my favourites of L from a photo shoot we did back in June.

For the second layout, I used an old photo of A & L that I had recently swapped out of a frame for a more recent shot but loved it too much not to scrapbook it.

2012-11-24 09.26.40

This sheet of paper really didn’t need much added to it.  But I did add some of the Studio Calico wood veneers (love those potty people).

2012-11-24 09.26.53

I die-cut the heart and brackets from the shimmery plum cardstock for the title.

2012-11-24 09.26.50

I was very happy with how they both turned out considering I had brought minimal supplies with me due to space limitations in my suitcase!  But without the pre-made kit, it would have been impossible for me to even think about doing any scrapbooking on a trip.  It was nice too to have something to do at the end of the day during a business trip rather than just hang out in the hotel watching TV and ordering room service!

Do you use kits to scrapbook?  How do you approach your kit?  Do you try to use it all in one sitting?  Do you try to use up all of the supplies in it?  Or do you use the kit as a base and add embellishments from your stash?

I’ll be back tomorrow with the rest of the layouts that I made with this kit after I got back home.

2 thoughts on “Scrapbook Kits…and how I used mine during a recent trip.

Leave a Reply

