Welcome to 2013!

Happy New Year!  Welcome to 2013.  It’s a brand new year and a clean slate.  To say that the latter part of 2012 wasn’t busy would be quite the understatement.  You probably thought that I fell off the map or worse!  But no, blogging just kind of fell by the wayside so that I could prepare for the holidays but more importantly, enjoy them as they happened.

In keeping with Ali Edwards One Little Word, I have chosen “SIMPLIFY” for me.  In 2012, I tried to do too much and my life became cluttered and complicated in the process.  I have decided to take a hiatus from the weekly Project Life in 2013.  I will continue to document the day-to-day in some Project Life like format but I will not be bound to making sure that every week gets a spread.  Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely LOVED the whole Project Life Process and my family really loves to look back and see what we did all year.  But, particularly towards the end of the year, it was always a process of catching up and I didn’t do much “regular” scrapbooking.  I have so many ideas swirling around in my head and so many unopened kits that I really need to get back to the 12X12 layouts.  I did get quite a few layouts done at The Paperie’s Fall Retreat and I will be sharing those with you in upcoming posts.  I will also give you a final look at my Project Life layouts before I tuck that album away.  What are your scrapbooking resolutions/plans for 2013?

Sara came up with a great idea on her blog the other day to have a look at what’s going on and update it once a month.  So I will also take a stab at trying this once a month.

Currently….

Drinking: A hot cup of Tim’s coffee to warm me up from this bone-chilling cold morning!

Eating: yogurt and fruit

Listening: to the Lumineers, really enjoying their new album.

Wearing: a long sleeved Tshirt and a warm sweater

Reading: blog posts from some of my fav’s, Sara, Cathie, The Paperie, Krista.

Feeling: hopeful, it’s a new year.  I have been cleaning, organizing, purging for the past couple of days.  My one little word for 2013 is “SIMPLIFY” and I have begun the process.

Weather: Sunny and -7° Celcius

Wanting: to put the finishing touches on my December Daily and my 2012 Project Life and put them away already.

Needing: a date night with my husband this weekend, it’s been way too long.

Wishing: someone would figure out the cure for cancer.  We lost another friend way too young this week to this horrible disease.  He was a wonderful person, so happy, positive and full of life.  He adored his wife and boys.  He always had a smile on his face.  He made my engagement ring, handpicked the stone and he also restored a piece of jewelry that my Mom left to me that had been in our family for 80 years.  So I will always think of him whenever I wear those pieces.  Rest in Peace, Frank.

Thinking: about all the exciting classes that I am signed up for this month starting with this one on Saturday, my plan to make stacks of cards once a month for various occasions to have on hand (I’ve needed way too many sympathy cards in the past two weeksL), and all of the Christmas layouts that are swirling around in my head.

Enjoying: my new winter coat, it’s full length and good to -30°C.  It reminds me of a sleeping bag but it’s definitely keeping me warm.

Loving: editing and printing photos from the month of December.  It is fun to remember the great bunch of friends that I have and the great times that we had celebrating during the holidays.

Apparently a huge winter storm is heading our way tomorrow, so if you are lucky enough to not have to venture out in it, enjoy your snow day!

Take Care!

Leave a Reply

