Another Week of Index Card A Day…

It’s been a while since I last posted…I am taking a couple of weeks vacation and have not been hanging out near my computer.  I am enjoying the absolutely incredible weather that we have been experiencing, enjoying the outdoors and the sites and sounds of beautiful Newfoundland!  But I have managed to keep up with my index cards, not daily but sometimes doing a few at a time, or squeezing one in here or there.  Here’s a catch up on last week’s ICADs:

July 15 – Day 45:  This card is not one of my favorites.  I was attempting a technique that I found on pinterest where you use a white crayon as a resist.  But it didn’t turn out as well as I liked so I decided to doodle a mandala over it.

July 16 – Day 46:  For this card, I sprayed Dylusions spray in Cut Grass for the background and stamped the script in archival ink.  Then I used my Golden Regular Gel (Semi Gloss) with a Crafter’s Workshop Stencil.  The stencil was trees but the gel became the background.  Once it was dry, I used the Melted Chocolate Dylusions spray.  The spray filled in the trees and the gel resisted the spray.

July 17 – Day 47:  I started this card with the London Blue Dylusions Spray and stamped the script in black archival ink.  Then I used the number collage Crafter’s Workshop stencil with Golden Soft Gel (Gloss).  When it dried I spritzed with Crushed Grape dylusions the gel acted as a resist.

July 18 – Day 48:  This card started with Fresh Lime Dylusions Spray and I stamped the script background with black archival ink.  Then I used the Crafter’s Workshop script stencil with Golden Extra Heavy Gel (Matte).  When it dried, I sprayed it with Black Marble Dylusions.  Even though the finish was matte, the gel still resisted the dylusions and the script stencil words became very clear.

July 19 – Day 49:  This card started with Lemon Zest Dylusions Spray and was then stamped with the script stamp in black archival ink.  Then a crafter’s workshop stencil was used with Clear Tar Gel.  This medium was VERY thick and more difficult to work with then the other ones that I used this week.  It dries very clear and has a glossy finish to it.  I then sprayed over the dried gel with Cut Grass Dylusions.  As there was very little left that wasn’t covered with the gel which acted as a resist, the green is very subtle.  You can very clearly see the background stamp through the dried gel here.

July 20 – Day 50:  I started this card the same as the others this week with a Dylusions Spray in Vibrant Turquoise and stamped the background with the script stamp in black archival ink.  I then used the same Crafter’s Workshop stamp that I used yesterday with Golden Light Molding Paste.  The paste dries with an opaque, matte finish.  I then sprayed the dried paste with dylusions in Crushed Grape.  As you can see, the paste absorbs the color.

July 21 – Day 51:  I decided to try dry embossing and love the texture, such a simple card but so pretty!  I punched hearts with my Martha Stewart Confetti Hearts punch and adhered them with Glue and Seal.  I stamped the Ali Edwards Technique Tuesday sentiment stamp on a scrap index card, fussy cut it and adhered it with pop dots.

I will be back later this week with a Project Life update and maybe a layout or two.  Have a great week!

4 thoughts on “Another Week of Index Card A Day…

  1. What a great selection of cards! I love the colours that you used, and that you used such a variety of materials and techniques. I think my favourite card is the one from day 46 with the trees; it looks mostly abstract but still suggests the shape and appearance of trees in a forest.

Leave a Reply

