Catching up with a bunch of Index Cards!

Wow,  this turned into quite a busy week and I am a little behind in posting my index cards…the last one that you saw was Day 35.  So, there will be lots of photos in this post to get you all caught up!

For Day 36, I used Light Molding Paste with a Crafter’s Workshop stencil mini Punchinella.  I used some Studio Calico chipboard clouds as a mask and misted with dylusions sprays.  I used a scrap piece of cardstock and sprayed with dylusions spray.  Once it was dry, I stamped the image from a unity stamp set in black archival ink and smeared on some yellow stickles.  I printed the quote on white cardstock, cut into strips and adhered using Glue and Seal.

For Day 37’s card, I used the Studio Calico chipboard clouds that I had used as a mask on the previous card and the same unity stamp set.  I stamped the images in versamark and embossed with black embossing powder.  I misted the card with a Mister Huey’s spray, adhered the clouds and called it done.

On Day 38, I tried my hand at drawing a mandala.  The more I drew, the more it looked like a sunflower.  I then painted the center in grey, the petals in yellow and the background in blue with my crayola watercolors.  Then I added a spritz of dylusions and some black stickles to the center. The sentiment is from an Ali Edwards – Technique Tuesday set.

On Day 39, I tried another mandala.  Boy, these things are not easy to draw!  I stamped a script background with pumice stone distress ink, misted with dylusions spray and added the sentiment from Tim Holtz chit chat stickers.

On Day 40, I doodled a grid and colored with different shades of purples in my stampin up markers.  Then I stamped a script background in black archival ink.  I stamped the people (from a unity set) and the sentiment ( Ali Edwards – Technique Tuesday) in versafine black ink.  I sprayed the wood veneer heart with dylusions spray and adhered it with glossy accents.  Then I gave to whole card a spritz of perfect pearls mist.

On Day 41, I was intrigued with a method that Cathie had used on one of here cards using foil and wanted to try it out.  I used aluminum foil from the roll in the kitchen.  I balled it up to crumple it.  You need to be careful not to ball it up too tight or you won’t be able to unball it with tearing it!  I adhered it to the index card using Glue and Seal.  Then I pulled out various brown shades of alcohol inks (including the copper metallic mixative) and using some blending solution and the ink blending tool, I pounced it on to the foil.  I LOVE how it turned out!  Then I inked the wood veneer people with dylusions spray and adhered them to the foil with Glossy Accents.  I used words from Tim Holtz’s chit chat stickers and added some written ones on kraft cardstock to finish the quote.  These were adhered with Glue and Seal.

On Day 42, I did a little experimenting with my dylusions sprays. First I spritzed the index card with water.  Then I sprayed it with various colors of dylusions.  The dylusions react with water and blended quite well.  I then used a paper towel to pick up the excess moisture which muted the colors quite a bit.  Then I stamped a swirl background in versamark and embossed with clear embossing powder.  I stamped the sentiment from an Ali Edwards – Technique Tuesday set in black archival ink.  I inked the wood veneer camera with dylusions spray and adhered it to the card with Glossy Accents.

On Day 43, I used the same method that I did on Day 41 but today I used pinks and purples in the alcohol inks.  Very, Very pretty and so much texture!  I added the sentiment using Tim Holtz chit chat stickers.

On Day 44, I did some more experimenting with my dylusions sprays.   This time I sprayed it with various colors of dylusions onto the dry card.  Then I spritzed with water to blend the colors.  Once the card was dry, I then used a dylusions diamond border stencil with water to create a subtle texture to the background.  I stamped the background with black archival ink.  I tried an Ali Edwards -Technique Tuesday stamp with outlined text in black archival ink but it didn’t stand out like I wanted it to.  Then I stamped the dragonfly (from a unity stamp set) and the sentiment (from another Ali Edwards – Technique Tuesday set) in versamark and embossing with black embossing powder.

There are only 17 index cards left in this challenge!  How are you doing?  Are you keeping up?  Please leave a link to your cards in the comments.  I would love to see what you are doing.

10 thoughts on “Catching up with a bunch of Index Cards!

  1. Your dragonfly stamp is gorgeous! And all of your cards are great – I can’t pick a favourite. I like all of the glitter and texture that you have used. And you may have thought that mandalas are not easy to draw, but I think that your mandala turned out very well indeed. I like its diamond shape – it’s a switch from the more typical circles.

    • Thanks for your kind words! I am really having fun with this challenge, I am trying all kinds of techniques that I normally wouldn’t attempt.

      That dragonfly is one of my favs too!

  2. Beautiful cards…you are doing some lovely experimenting! I especially love your “all about the journey,” “you are my reason why,” and dragonfly cards.

  3. These cards are super cool with a fun variety of techniques. Foil! What a cool idea. I’m so happy you are enjoying the challenge and playing along. Keep it up!

    • Thanks! It has been fun and it has really given me an opportunity to step outside my comfort zone! It’s been fun and I have learned lots!

Leave a Reply

