Sharing a Layout…

It’s been a while since I posted a scrapbook layout, so I thought that I would share this quick one that I pulled together for a recent Layout Tag that I participated in.  In case you don’t know what Layout Tag is, I will give you a brief explanation.  A group of scrapbookers get together on-line and agree to participate.  The organizer selects a layout for inspiration from any source available (maybe an on-line group, a facebook group, a magazine, website or blog) and does a layout of her own based the inspiration.

Layout Tag is pretty free-flowing and you are able to take any element of the inspirational layout and do your own interpretation of it.  So it could be the color scheme, the structure, the photo, the title, the sketch, or any element within the layout.  The organizer then passes her layout on via email to the next person, who completes a layout based on the organizer’s and passes it along to the next person.  The organizer gets copied on all of the Layouts along the way and is responsible for The Big Reveal once the last person has submitted their layout.

The Big Reveal is always very exciting…to see the original inspiration and how it has evolved and changed throughout the process.

For my layout, I wanted to scrapbook some pictures from B’s recent family birthday dinner and cake with candles photos.  I used some Bazzill textured cardstock for the background which I thought matched up pretty well with the colors in the photos.  I used the Crafter’s Workshop 12X12 Burst stencil and some Mister Huey’s Mist in Opaque White.  I really love the result and think that it is quite appropriate for a Birthday themed layout.  I added a punched border, some washi tape and a few Basic Grey embellishments.  The title is done in Doodlebug white letters and the journalling at the bottom are some small letters from an old Making Memories pack that were hanging around.  Here’s the finished product:

I love participating in Layout Tag.  It forces you to get something done.  You have a fixed period of time to complete it and it is fun to see everyone’s layouts at the end with the Big Reveal! I participate in a couple of groups that do layout tags on a fairly regular basis.  As a matter of fact, I am working on one right now which is due to be passed along tomorrow.

It’s almost the weekend again!  And the weather has been amazing all week.  I will be back soon with some more of my ICAD‘s.  I can’t believe we are past the halfway point on those too!

One thought on “Sharing a Layout…

Leave a Reply

