Index Card A Day – Day 26, 27, 28 & 29

Just popping in with a quick update on my ICAD progress. I am LOVING the new Tim Holtz Seasonal Distress Inks for summer!  The colors are so vibrant!  I have been playing with those quite a bit this week.  For my Day 26 card, I used a Dylusions Stencil and the salty sea and picked raspberry distress inks.  Once I lifted the stencil, I used a sponge to go over the whole card with distress ink in mowed lawn.  I printed the quote on card stock and cut out the strips and adhered them with glue and seal in matte.  Once it was dry, I gave it a spray of perfect pearls mist in perfect pearl.  And this is the final result, I think it’s one of my favorites so far!

I love the quote and the movie that it came from.  L was looking at all of my ICAD’s on Sunday and was fascinated with them and was very interested in some of the quotes that I was using and suggested that I use this one.

For Day 27, I used my Jenni Bowlin Paint Daubers and a Crafter’s Workshop stencil.  I love the messy look that you get when you use a very wet medium with the stencils.  This card has wonderful texture too!  Once it was all dry and cured, I added the quote from an Ali Edwards Technique Tuesday set and gave it a spritz of Perfect Pearls in Forever Green for a little shimmer since the paint gives a very flat, matte finish.  Here’s the final result:

On Day 28, I used a Dylusions alphabet stencil and Adirondack Metallic Paint Dauber in Silver.  I really like the texture that you get from this product when you pounce it on the stencil.  I covered the whole index card with Tim Holtz distress ink in salty sea (what a gorgeous blue, don’t you think?).  The paint acts as a resist and I love the result…

For today’s card (#29), I found this crafter’s workshop stencil with all of the detailed butterflies on it.  I coloured them with Tim Holtz distress markers, added the sentiment from an Ali Edwards Technique Tuesday set.  Then I gave it a spritz of water and since the markers react with water, it blurred the images slightly and when that dried, I gave it a spritz of perfect pearls in perfect pearl and called it done.  Here’s the finished card.

Are you still playing along with ICAD2?  We’re almost halfway there!  I am sitting here tonight listening to the rain falling and I am very happy that we are finally getting some much-needed precipitation…it will do a lot to ease the danger of the forest fires that we have been faced with in the past couple of weeks.  It will also allow the many plans for fireworks in celebration of Canada Day this weekend!  I am looking forward to another long weekend.

Please leave a link to where I can find your index cards, I love to see what everyone else is creating.

Leave a Reply

