Index Card A Day Update

This week certainly flew by…and its been a busy one.  And it’s the last week of school, yay!  All that’s left now is to pick up the report cards on Thursday, then it’s officially summer.  I wasn’t home much this past few days so I’ve been carrying around my index cards and markers in my purse.  And basically doodling and coloring!  I had forgotten what a stress reliever that doodling and coloring can be.

My friend Cathie has been zentangling on her index cards, so I did a little research into what exactly that was and tried out some very basic zentangling techniques on my card for day 15:

For Day 16, I combined several zentangling techiques one card:

For Day 17, I taped off the card with masking tape and colored in the open spaces with various colors of markers.  When I removed the masking tape, I colored in all of the white space with black sharpie.  The I stamped the sentiment from a unity stamp set in versamark and embossed with white embossing powder.  A little spray of perfect pearls in biscotti and it was done.

For Day 18, I started doodling names in alphabetical order, then I boxed them all and colored in the white space.  Then I thought that I would add the phase “What’s in a name?” so I covered an area with Distress Stain in Picket fence.  I was in a bit of a hurry to finish it so I heat set the stain and all of the names I had written disappeared!  I almost trashed the whole card but I could still faintly see the names so I wrote over them in marker.  I stamped the phrase in versamark and embossed it. Then I gave it a spray of perfect pearls in perfect pearl and it was done.

What types of things are you doing for your ICAD?  Leave me a link in the comments, I would love to see your work.  Have a great Hump Day!

13 thoughts on “Index Card A Day Update

  1. Loving your cards, Liz! I’m so glad you’re playing along with this – it’s fun to see what people you know do outside of their regular thing!

    • Thanks Sara! I am loving your cards too! I FINALLY got to the art supply store so this weekends cards will be full of experimenting with my new supplies….should be lots of fun!

  2. Your cards are great! I love the one where you used the masking tape and colored in with all those beatiful colors…the black sharpie sets it all off so nicely. What a fun idea to brainstorm all those names…I’m glad you didn’t trash the card, because it came out quite well!

    • Thanks! The masking tape one was fun! I’m glad the dissappearing ink thing happened on an index card…if it was on a layout, it would have been way worse! I just know now to never use that pen on a layout if I am doing any heat embossing!

    • Thanks! I am still not sure how I feel about the zentangles…they are very time-consuming! But I do love how they look when they are complete!

  3. I am too impatient for zentangling and I don’t find it relaxing, but I like how it looks and admire other peoples! Love these cards and the embossing came out fantastic, I need to do that more! Love these cards, good work. 🙂

  4. Such great cards. I really like the stained glass looking card with the tape and black sharpie. Thanks for explaining your process with how you made them. Very helpful for someone like me to learn new things.

Leave a Reply

