ICAD Days 10 and 11

Just a quick post tonight to update with my latest two creations. Here’s Day 10:

When I was digging through my stash, I came across this hero arts clouds background stamp.  I hadn’t used it in a while so I pulled it out.  I stamped the image in versamark and embossed with aqua embossing powder.  I really like the effect.  I didn’t really like the lines in the clouds so I stained over them with Tim Holtz distress stain which showed up very opaque when it was wet but the lines bled through as it dried.  (I need to make a trip to the local art store and get some art mediums….then I will try the same method and see what happens.) I spritzed the chipboard “10” with Mister Huey’s and adhered with glossy accents.  I added the quote which you will recognize from John Lennon’s “Imagine” which is one of my all-time favorites and called it done.

Here’s Day 11:

I am really happy with this one!  I stamped the Studio Calico/Hero Arts Chevron stamp in weathered wood distress ink.  I covered a strip at the top and bottom with tissue tape and colored with distress stain in broken china for the sky and shabby shutters for the grass.  I made the sun by splatting the top of the dried marigold distress stain against the card.  The chipboard house was spritzed with perfect pearl mist over mister huey’s spritz.  Then I used Glass Effect Gel in Blackberry to fill in the door and windows.  I used my picket fence distress marker to put some panels on the door and stamped the chevron on the roof for the illusion of shingles.

I’ll be back tomorrow with my 12 on 12.

Leave a Reply

