Saturday Stuff…

The sunshine that they were promising all week did not materialize this morning.  I was joking with one of my friends earlier that if you look at the Weather Channel, it shows cute little suns for the next 5 days — it’s not the real forecast, it’s just a suicide prevention tactic.  Seriously though, I am having some serious vitamin D withdrawal and a significant bout of seasonal effective disorder — and the calendar is telling me that it is not the middle of the winter!  It’s Juneuary!  That being said, it did improve this afternoon and it’s amazing how much warmth the sun provides.

This is going to be a jam-packed post.  I’ll start with yesterday’s index card.

I started with a black pen, just kind of doodling and ended up with a pattern.  Then I coloured it with my stampin’ up markers.  I stamped the arrow and the quote in versamark and embossing with my go-to white embossing powder.  Then I sprayed the whole thing with perfect pearls mist in heirloom gold and it was done!

The puppies were looking particularly cute this morning….after a day at the doggie spa yesterday….

I love how they just sit and pose to get their pictures taken…or maybe it has something to do with the doggie treats that they know they’ll get if they sit!

I’ve been editing and uploading photos this morning.  I want to do some scrapbooking and I had a few I needed to get all caught up with Project Life.  I will have a few posts on that this week but for now, here’s a look at week 14:

Lots of photos of Andrew’s trip to Iceland on this spread.  We were very lucky that one of the teacher’s who chaperoned the trip was an avid photographer and took hundreds of amazing photos.  I had lots to choose from but these were a few of my favorites.  I have to tell you, all of the teachers who were involved with the Icelandic Adventure were amazing.  Last week, Andrew came home with a hardcover photobook filled with pictures from the trip along with descriptions of where they went and what they did on each day.  In the back of the book in an envelope was a short video of the highlights of the trip which was pieced together from over a hundred video clips that were taken during the week. This shows me why these teachers are so popular and respected among the kids…they go above and beyond!

Here are some close-ups of the left hand page:

And here’s the right hand side:

Congratulations to Cody Donaghey (who you might remember that I photography for this magazine) who was drafted 14th overall in the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League Draft this morning by Rouyn-Noranda.

And congratulations to Nathan Yetman who was drafted 100th overall by the PEI Rocket!

And congratulations also to Kyle Tibbo who was drafted 145th overall by the same team as Cody,Rouyn-Noranda!

Best of luck to all of you as you embark on the beginning of your professional hockey careers!

If you read my post about Dr. Jack Hand and are interested in reading about a truly inspirational life, please read some of the condolences.  Keep a box of tissues nearby.  He was truly a hero.

Enjoy the rest of your Saturday.  I will be watching the Stanley Cup final with a nice glass of red wine!

Leave a comment