My Happy Place – ICAD2 Update

I find it interesting that the ICAD2 challenge is so free-flowing and that I am not having any trouble coming up with ideas (so far).  There are so many things about this that are out of my comfort zone but I am finding it quite liberating.  And, even more interesting to me, there is so much diversity in the cards that everyone else is posting, from the subject to the materials and techniques used, it really is very inspiring.

Here is Card #4:

My house was filled with music all weekend and, particularly on Monday night when I created this card.  L was deep in preparation for her Conservatory Canada voice exam on Tuesday morning and was singing every chance that she had.  So music was on my mind and this is what I came up with.  The background is an Impression Obsession background stamp and the rest is doodled.   I love the quote.

Speaking of quotes, there is an emerging theme coming from these cards for me.  I am including a quote on each one of them.  I guess you could say that I am a quote junkie.  I have a journal at home devoted to quotes where I jot down any quotes that I like, that I find inspiring, that have meaning to me.  I refer to this journal often for inspiration for scrapbook pages or other projects and have been looking at it quite a bit this week.  I have either started with a quote and created a card.  Or in the case of Card #5, I had an idea in my head for the card and went to my journal to find an appropriate quote.  I think that this one is my personal favorite so far!

I love happy colors and the houses of Jelly Bean Row always make my smile.  We have been having a particularly long run of horrible weather where I live.  Rain, drizzle and fog everyday for two weeks straight.  Everything is grey so I am injecting happy colors into my life every chance that I can get.  For the background, I used distress stain to make grass (shabby shutters) and sky (broken china).  I splattered the distess stain (mustard seed)bottle onto the page a few times to make the sun. I sketched my houses and colored them with markers and cut them out and adhered them to the index card using popdots.   Then I added the quote and it was done.

Leave a link in the comments section so I can see what you are working on too!

Happy Wednesday!

4 thoughts on “My Happy Place – ICAD2 Update

  1. I love what you’re doing – your cards are fabulous! I seem to have a quote theme going too, though I didn’t notice until you pointed out yours!

  2. I love them especially the Jelly Bean row – you may need to give me a lesson – where did you find the houses?…cheers, house fanatic B

Leave a Reply

