And the Index Cards Keep Coming….

I hope that you had a wonderful, long, Canada Day weekend!  The weather here was incredible, beautiful, hot, sunny, summer days…perfect for enjoying relaxing summer activities with your family.  We spent some time at our cabin this weekend, hanging out on the deck, assembling patio furniture, kayaking, staining the deck, BBQing and seeing friends!  It was great!

In the process of doing some organizing over the weekend, I discovered that I did not share my card for day 22 with you.  I can’t believe that I forgot to show you this one, as it is one of my favorites so far.  For this one, I sprayed over my crafter’s workshop stencil with dylusions sprays.  Then I stamped all over the card with a cute floral stamp from the Unity Stamp Company.  I stamped the sentiment in versamark and embossed it with white embossing powder.  I am a little disappointed that it is not as clear as I would have liked but overall I am pleased with how this one came out:

I have been taking a peek at what other’s are coming up with for index cards so I decided I wanted to amp mine up a little and for that I needed some new supplies so I took a trip to the local art supply store and bought myself a few things to try….

So what to do with all this stuff?  There is a great tutorial on Sara’s Blog which explains the different types of mediums and how they work. Check out her amazing index cards!  She is really into the mixed media art and layering and trying out new techniques.  I just love her stuff!

For some other ideas and great mixed media inspiration, check out Cathie’s and Marg’s blogs.  Both of these super-talented ladies are also participating in ICAD2 and are producing some great art!

I am just starting out with these products so I have been using the index cards to get a feel for what the different products can do and how they look.  For Day 30, I took out the fluid acrylic paints and started playing with them and a popsicle stick.  I swished, blended splatted to see how they interacted.  Here is the card.  I added a quote from Walt Disney with Tim Holtz chit chat word stickers (I was missing a couple so I improvised with Lawn Fawn stamps and kraft cardstock) and it was done.  I love the vibrant colors!

For July 1 (Day 31), I went with some simple techniques and a Canada Day theme.  I masked and spritzed the card and a scrap with October Afternoon sprinkler in Santa’s Hat, then I punched out the maple leaf from the scrap and adhered it to the card with pop dots.  Then I covered the red areas with stickles in Christmas Red (I used my finger the spread the stickles around).  Once that was dry I added the stamped “Happy Canada Day” and the date and it was done.

For July 2 (Day 32), I blended some Coarse Pumice Gel with some green fluid acrylic paint.   The fluid acrylic paints blend really well.  But, I will tell you that the pumic gel is not that easy to work with.  I spread the mixture over a crafters workshop stencil and let it air dry.  Then I gave it a spritz of Perfect Pearls in Forever Blue and added the Tim Holtz chit chat word stickers and this is how it turned out.

It’s really hard to see but the texture is amazing!  Here’s another angle which you can see a the texture a bit better:

Have a great week!  I love these short weeks that come after the long weekend.  Leave a comment with a link to show me where I can see some of your ICAD’s.  I am always interested to see what everyone is creating!

9 thoughts on “And the Index Cards Keep Coming….

  1. Your cards look amazing Liz! Love what you did with the fluid acrylics and I can’t wait to see what you come up with using the gels and mediums!

  2. Great cards! I love that you used ICAD as an excuse to buy some more art supplies…nice! The ICAD project is a great way to try out new techniques and supplies, isn’t it?

    • Thanks! Yes, I did shop a little! I am excited to try out all of this stuff and see what I come up with. I am loving the experimenting and the canvas is just the right size for that!

Leave a Reply

